Archives

My love for rare books and archives bloomed while I was an undergraduate student when I worked at a student archivist for DePaul’s Special Collections and Archives Library.

The status of the Institute Library’s archives is, umm, sad.  Other than some year-less posters, newspaper clippings (again, without the date attached) ticket stubs, we don’t really any of the library’s records from the 19th century.  The Beinecke does have many of our missing records.

Tomorrow I am taking a field trip to the Beinecke and will be lost to the world in the archives, uncovering more of the mysteries of the Institute Library.  I have eight pages of Institute Library documents that are housed at Yale.

A few titles on my list of documents to seek out tomorrow:

  • “A contract by and between the city of New Haven and the New Haven Young Men’s Institute”  1886
  • “An Appeal for the Young Men’s Institute” 1854
  • “Catalogue of books in the library of the Young Men’s Institute” 1840
  • “Constitution of the Young Mechanic’s Institute” 1831

I am so incredibly excited!!!  I will share my discoveries as soon as possible!

2 thoughts on “Archives

  1. Keep in mind for another day that the New Haven Free Public Library has some history papers, espcially around the law suit with the City over the estate of Philip Meritt.

Comments are closed.